Levain Bakery Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

The last time I went to New York, my friend Bonnie told me I had to go to Levain Bakery and get one of each of their 4 cookies.  I am so glad I listened.  Levain Bakery is rumored to bake the best cookies in the world and they were soooo good.  I actually went a second time when we were there and stocked up bringing a bunch home with me.  I dream about these cookies!  Literally once a week, I long for a Levain Bakery cookie.  So, when my friend Alison Anderson posted a link to a recipe on instagram I almost died of excitement.   The recipe was posted on the A Bountiful Kitchen website.  Si loves Levain cookies as much as the rest of the world and spent weeks perfecting a copy cat recipe. I literally made the cookies that very evening.  I made the walnut free version per request of my kids, but it almost felt like too much chocolate (can there be such a thing?).  Next go I think I will throw the walnuts in and hope they don’t notice.  Nevertheless, these were delicious and remniscent of Levain cookie in New York.  Si also recently posted a dark chocolate/peanut butter chip recipe as well.  I can’t wait to try that one!
LEVAIN BAKERY WALNUT CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Ingredients:

  • I C butter, cut into tablespoons
  • 3/4 C light brown sugar
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C cake flour
  • 1 3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 2 C walnut halves
  • 2 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and set rack in middle of oven.  Make sure oven is at heat for at least 15 minutes before throwing the cookies in.
  2. Place butter in bowl and turn mixer with paddle attachment on low.
  3. Add sugars and beat until smooth on medium speed.  This should take about 1 minute.  Mix until the butter pieces are completely blended with the sugar pieces and no longer visible in pieces.
  4. Add the eggs and beat on medium until just incorporated with butter and sugars, about 30 seconds.
  5. Turn mixer off.  Add cake flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Pulse the dry ingredients on low until wet and dry ingredients are mixed together.
  6. Pour walnuts into batter all at once.  Pulse the batter 5-6 times.
  7. Pour chocolate chips into the batter and pulse again 5-6 times.
  8. Pour the batter onto a clean surface.  Fold the dough together a few times until all of the chocolate chips and walnuts are mixed into the batter.
  9. Divide the dough into 8 equal pieces.  Use hands to shape cookies.
  10. (If you don’t have a convection oven–which I don’t–Si recommends refrigerating the dough at this point for 45 minutes to help the cookies hold their shape).
  11. Bake 4 cookies per pan for 11 minutes on regular bake or 8-9 minutes on convection bake.
  12. The cookies are done when the top is a bit golden and the bottom is also golden.
  13. Do not over bake.  Let cool 15-60 minutes on the pan.

*No nut version:  Increase the all-purpose flour to 2 C and increase the chocolate chips to 4 C.

*Mini version:  Shape dough into 16 cookies rather than 8 and shorten baking time to about 5 minutes until top of cookie forms a crust.

 

Leave a Reply

