Naan

image

Something I could gorge myself on is definitely Indian Naan bread.  I love Indian food in general but that fantastic light and slightly crispy Naan bread they serve in the side to soak up all the spicy Indian sauces is definitely on my list of favorites.  I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and while I swear I will never be able to replicate whatever they do in restaurants this is a close second when we are eating Tikka Masala at home.  It turns out best when cooked on the BBQ grill but when you don’t feel like going through all the effort it could be made inside on griddle too.  This makes a ton!  I often cut it in half or make the dough, let it rise, and then freeze half to use later.

NAAN

Ingredients:

  • 1 package active dry yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 C warm water
  • 1/4 C white sugar
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 1/2 (or so) C bread flour
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 C melted butter (could be optional)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl dissolve yeast and 1 Tbsp sugar in warm water.
  2. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy.
  3. Stir in 3 more Tbsp sugar, milk, egg, and enough flour to make a soft dough (should feel slightly tacky when mixed).
  4. Knead for 5 minutes  until smooth (I do this in my KitchenAid- but you could do it by hand)
  5. Place dough in a well oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise for 1 hour until dough is double in volume).
  6. Punch down dough, and knead in garlic.
  7. Pinch off small handfuls of dough about the size of a golf ball.  Roll into balls and place on oiled tray.
  8. Cover with damp towel, and allow to rise until doubled in size (about 30 minutes).
  9. Meanwhile preheat grill to high heat.  Then, clean and oil the grill.
  10. Roll each ball of dough with rolling pin out until very thin (doesn’t have to be perfect circles–YAY).  I usually roll out each ball and stack them on top of each other with wax paper in between so they don’t stick.
  11. Place dough on grill (watch the heat I usually have to turn it down a little so I don’t burn them because these cook fast–I also usually only do 4 or 5 at time because otherwise they cook faster than I can manage).
  12. Cook for 2-3 minutes until puffy and lightly browned.  Brush uncooked side with melted butter, and then turn over.
  13. Brush the other side with butter, and cook until browned, another 2-4 minutes.
  14. Remove them from the grill and continue the process until all the naan has been prepared.

*If you roll the dough flat on an oiled counter and oil the grill grate.  I honestly think you could get by without the melted butter entirely.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

