Taco Soup

I’m sure you are all familiar with the scenario of spending the past hour or so concocting a dinner for your family and madly trying to gather everyone to the table.  And then when they finally arrive, one or more claim to dislike what you made and say, “I’m not eating.”  While that sort of attitude doesn’t really fly in my home and everyone is always forced to try at least a bite of everything, it is by no means a pleasant way to enjoy a meal as a family.  There are few meals that I know everyone in my families loves and this is one of them, so this is a go to meal for me.   Everyone devours Taco Soup and even ask for seconds.  Plus, it’s simple, simple, simple, and can be made start to finish in 30 minutes.  I make it when I have to work all day and know I won’t have a lot of time to cook or when we’ve been out of town and come home to an empty fridge.  Most of the ingredients are canned goods, and I always keep them on hand so I can whip this out at a moment’s notice.  I had a few different taco soup recipes and kinda combined them all into this.

TACO SOUP

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef (or ground turkey is what we usually do in our household)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 package taco seasoning mix
  • 1 can of corn (16 oz), undrained
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (16 0z each or one 28 oz can- stewed tomatoes can also be used)
  • 1 can tomato sauce (8 oz)
  • 1 large can diced green chilis (7 oz- could even use 3 small cans if you really like them)

Directions:

  1. Brown meat and onion together.
  2. Add everything else.
  3. Simmer 20-30 minutes.
  4. Top with grated cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips.
Leave a Reply

